Raspberry Lime Seltzer

seltzer 1

Now that I’m heading to Arizona in just over a month, I’m trying to develop a recipe list of drinks, meals, and snacks to cool me down. I visited Nathan in Arizona, the summer after my freshman year at Hopkins, and it was over 100˚F, which coming from Maine, was hotter than anywhere I had been before.

My favorite part of the trip was our Grand Canyon rim to rim hike. The rim to rim involved a 23 mile hike from the south to the north end of the canyon. Coming straight out of finals was probably not the best way to prepare for this hike, and while I plodded through, I had never been more sore. We started at 5 that morning to begin our hike. When we got to the start, there surprisingly was snow. I was wearing long pants and my black nanopuff, but the cool weather was all too short. By the time we got to the bottom of the canyon, we were hiking in 120˚F weather-the needle on the thermometer was off scale. Even though it was so hot, no one in our group seemed to be too fazed by it, probably because the hike was so beautiful.

When I hike in New England, I’m used to being surrounded by pine trees, granite, and blueberry patches. While none of those features appeared, we met vibrant desert flowers that grew out from under rocks, dry rock that took on shades from purple to red, and cacti in full bloom. I find it so interesting that we can have such drastic differences in landscape while still being in the same country. I’m excited to be able to hike more in Arizona for the next four years and hoping that, if I could handle hiking 12 hours in that sort of climate, I’ll be able to handle the Arizona summer. Just think how much better I would have felt after that hike if I had this raspberry lime seltzer waiting for me as I finished.

The Bite: Now that we’ve got enamel, dentin, and dental pulp out of the way in our tooth anatomy crash course, we can focus on cementum. Cementum is a bone-like structure that covers the root of your tooth. It’s like Gorilla Glue, anchoring your tooth into the periodontium that connects your tooth to the underlying bone. Without cementum, our teeth wouldn’t be able to firmly stay in place. Think how much harder it would be to eat sticky or chewy foods. If, however, you somehow lost all of your cementum, all is not lost-you still could drink this.

seltzer 2

Raspberry Lime Seltzer

Ingredients

1 cup raspberries, fresh or frozen
1 cup sugar
1 cup water
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons key lime juice, (juice of about 3 key limes)
1 1/4 cups plain seltzer per glass

Directions

Combine the raspberries, sugar and water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat and cook until the sugar has dissolved. Stir occasionally. Remove from heat and let sit for an hour to steep. When the mixture has cooled, blend it in a food processor or blender. Pour the mixture through a fine mesh sieve to remove the raspberry seeds. Add the lemon and lime juice, as well as the vanilla extract. This syrup will keep for 2 weeks in the fridge or up to 3 months in the freezer.

To serve: Pour 3 tablespoons of syrup into the bottom of a glass. Top with seltzer, mix well, and enjoy!

Source: adapted from Flour, Too

Leave a Reply

