Peach Kale and Coconut Smoothie

kale smoothie 1

I’ve never exactly been sold on “green” smoothies. Sure they pack in some extra veggies, but most of the ones I’ve tried are pretty gross, and the ones I want to make often have ingredients that I’ve never heard of (what the heck is maca root powder?). While I’m sure maca root powder does wonders for your skin, boosts longevity and wards off cancer, I’m not going to buy it for just one smoothie. This peach, kale, and coconut smoothie, however, is different. It’s surprisingly fresh, contains all common ingredients, is super fast to make, and more importantly, tastes good.

This was breakfast in less than five minutes, thanks to my Vitamix. Ever since I invested (note the word invested instead of bought) in my Vitamix, I’ve been taking every opportunity to use it (considering I almost had to take out more federal student loans to buy it). I know it’s just a kitchen appliance, but I use it almost every day for peanut butter, nut milks, smoothies, soups, and hummus. It somehow makes cooking even more fun then it already is, and saves tedious prep time, as I can toss in all of my ingredients and just wait until it pulverizes everything. The one downside: it sounds like a lawn mower. On one of my dental school interviews, one of my questions was: if you were a kitchen tool what would you be? My answer: a Vitamix (this was the only school that I was wait listed at, probably due to the fact that they were so weirded out by my enthusiasm for this appliance). While you don’t necessarily need a Vitamix for this recipe, it may not turn out as smooth and frothy as in a conventional blender. Either way, it should taste just the same!

The Bite: I have to admit, I love chewing ice. But, ever since I heard from my dentist that it can damage your teeth, I’ve stopped. Chewing ice can cause microfracturers in your teeth, which weakens the overall structure, and over time can lead to broken teeth if continually exposed to high pressure and stress. In addition, it can also exacerbate tooth sensitivity, due to the extreme temperature changes, and damage gums. I think I’ll leave the ice crunching to my Vitamix.

kale smoothie 2

Peach Kale and Coconut Smoothie

Yield: 1 large smoothie

Ingredients

1 cup frozen unsweetened peach slices
1 cup packed kale leaves (no stems)
1/2 cup frozen banana
1 cup light coconut milk
1/2-1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
2 teaspoons honey

Directions

Place all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth.

Source: Adapted from Peach Kale and Coconut Smoothie from Camille Styles

4 thoughts on “Peach Kale and Coconut Smoothie

  1. Made this today, alas without The Magical Vitamix, but still yummy and would make it again! Your healthy, nutrition packed recipes will get us through lax season. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

