Oatmeal Pancakes

photo

While driving up for a weekend ski at Sunday River three years ago, I decided that I wanted to become a dentist. I loved that I would be able to apply my engineering background in materials science, sculpt and work with my hands, and join the health care profession as the rest of my family had. What we had the next morning was arguably my family’sĀ favorite Sunday River morning treat: oatmeal pancakes. These pancakes are hearty enough to fuel you through a morning ski or any other activity you have planned. I promise that these pancakes have never failed to please, but make sure to soak the oats the night before in real buttermilk-dried will not work.

oat soak

The Bite: Oral health is not separate from systemic health. I often thought that this was the case before I started shadowing. I thought that problems that originated in the mouth would stay in the mouth. However, this is far from the case. Periodontal or gum disease has been linked to cardiovascular disease, head and neck cancers, respiratory disease, diabetes, and low-birth weight babies for pregnant women. So, take care of your oral health for your overall health.

photo 3

Oatmeal Pancakes

Yield: about 12 pancakes

Ingredients

2 cups old fashioned oats (not quick cooking)
2 cups buttermilk
3 eggs
4 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
scant 1/2 cup flour

Directions

The night before, soak oats with buttermilk and refrigerate. In the morning, add the remaining ingredients in the order as listed, stirring between each new addition. Drop 1/4 – 1/3 cup of batter onto a greased skillet or griddle, flipping the pancakes once the bottom is golden and small bubbles have formed on the surface of the uncooked side.

Source: From our family friends, the Governalis

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Pancakes

Leave a Reply

